ventichai's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reality's a bitch...

Its ashame that it takes a crisis, or to see someone who is in pain, for you to realize how lucky you have things in life.

I just took a second out of my hectic day to go complain and vent to my sales manager. As I walked up to his office, I noticed he was talking to an older man with thinning hair. He was skin and bones and looked as if he were breathing his last breath.

As I looked closer, I noticed that I knew this man. This was a guy who just last month I was sitting at a card table with, laughing about the day he taught me how to drive a manual Jetta. He was one of my co-workers. One of my friends.

Last year, he had to take a leave of absence due to a recent diagnosis of liver and colon cancer. He went through chemotherapy, lost his hair, and most of his weight. Just a few months ago, when he started feeling himself again, he made frequent visits to the dealership. He told us that he "just needed to get out." He began to grow some hair, and put some weight back on. Slowly, color began coming back into his lifeless body.

3 weeks ago, the doctors told him that the operation and chemo had not done the job they hoped it would, and that his time here was coming to an end. Today was the first time I saw him since then. He looks worse now than when I first saw him after his initial leave of absence.

I couldn't even look him in the eyes. Half out of sadness and half out of guilt. Just 10 minutes prior, I was ranting about how hectic my day was, and stomping around like a 5 year old. And there he sits. Smiling. Dying....

I'm kind of at a loss for words. I'll update more a little later.

3:39 p.m. - 2005-05-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ibjem555
clarity25
juddhole
bohemianlife
chickie-legs
f-girl
pinkbowshoe
pixie-grl
kitty-kaboom
pumpkin144
redsirenbody
singlegirl
galaxy
kristintracy